Self-Confidence- Beautiful Or Vain?


Hey y’all! As you can see, I changed the blog’s theme! πŸ™‚ I saw it used on some blogs I loved, and thought it was cute, so decided to use it! Not sure if it’ll stick or I may go back, who knows! πŸ™‚ Oh the irony- its so easy to find a theme I love on WordPress, but I CANNOT for the life of me find the perfect Tumblr theme! Right now, I’m stuck and since I can’t find a good one, the current theme on Tumblr is a sucky one I haven’t gotten to changing. Lord help me. πŸ˜‰ Long story short, I’m sprucing up the blog’s look! πŸ™‚

Anyway, so last night in the shower I was thinking. I was sort of mentally interviewing myself, making up a blog post in my head (don’t you judge me lol)- and I started thinking about confidence.

I think we all think of something different when we read or hear that word. What is confidence, you may ask? Well, the third dictionary definition is;

a feeling of self-assurance arising from one’s appreciation of one’s own abilities or qualities.

OK, pretty simple. Right?

I got to thinking about what confidence truly was. And I realized- confidence showed itself in so many ways, it was overwhelming to think about.

So, what is confidence to me, and what’s so great about it?

You know, nowadays, it seems confidence can get really hard to find. It seems everyone has low self-esteem, walks with their head down, doesn’t smile, don’t help others, ignores people, doesn’t do things they’d normally do just because people are around- all of this plays in one thing, not being confident.

I think confidence is a lot. I think its something big, and something that people nowadays have forgotten to be a good thing. Way too often things like depression, anxiety (overthinking, remember?), hatred, feeling like nothing- its all completely OK and normal. So it seems to be from a mass of society, right?

Well, I’m tired of people saying depression is normal. I’m tired of people saying that its fine, and pretending to be fine is the best and normal way to go. I’m tired of people acting like this is all fine and normal and not trying to suck it up and fix it. Stop raising kids who are victims- victims of themselves. Its not doing great.
And for us kids- don’t be a victim. Don’t let yourself be a victim of society, don’t blame your mistakes, your problems, everything- on society. Don’t let yourself be a victim of yourself.

It seems that confidence is an ugly thing to people nowadays. Like it makes people arrogant, vain, dumb, etc… Which is all wrong. Of course, people can be arrogant, vain, and dumb- I’m not saying people don’t walk around with their heads up being stupid or focused on themselves.

But being confident isn’t any of these things. Or at least, it shouldn’t be.

Being confident is a good thing. I can’t get this across enough. Because being confident isn’t being self-absorbed- its having faith in God that you are enough. And once you realize that, being confident is a whole new thing. Because when you have self confidence, you don’t care.

That’s the biggest, best truth! You. Don’t. Care. Because when you have self-confidence, its not a competition! Its not! Because you’re embracing you and you’re also embracing others. You’ve accepted yourself, so you don’t have to focus on you. See what I’m saying? You can be HAPPY AND ENJOY YOURSELF without feeling like you are a small ant, and you can also HAVE FUN WITH OTHERS because you’re not worried about yourself.

Its really beautiful, I think, because now, you don’t care about what’s the best or prettiest because you trust God and you already know you’re OK. You’re not obsessing over yourself anymore. You’re owning who you are, you are owning what God made you to be, and are openingly being you. Not thinking about what you are all the time. Dear me, before I forget, let me say; I’m not saying that as we grow, say, the teen years, that we won’t not think about ourselves. Its a healthy thing to try and figure out who we are, what we’re doing, and all that. But while I do that, as I grow- I don’t want to grow by myself. Does that make sense? I want to branch out in my growing- help people, make others lives better… Maybe its just the Bastille in my ears, but I’d love to make this life worth living without me as the only dot on the map. I don’t want to think about myself all the time, I want to have confidence and grow- but to also live.

Confidence is beautiful because it basically means one thing. That no matter what others think, you’re happy with yourself. You’re grateful to what God made you to be, and is helping you grow into. We all have flaws, quirks, and things we want to change to make us better- and guess what? There’s no shame in that! There is no shame about wanting to change something for better. Me, I need to work on being nicer. Less snarky. Now, I don’t want to not be my sarcastic, blunt person- but I know that I need to be nicer. And because being nicer and less snarkier would be best to glorify God, I am going to try.

Confidence is powerful, and that’s the reason I believe that a lot of society hates it so much. It makes people do things. *gasp* XD

Self-confidence can lead to a lot of things. Helping others, too, because if you feel strong in yourself and God, helping others is a good thing. Self-confidence makes you walk a little taller, look around, smile at people (smiles with confidence are prettier than smiles without), order your food- all sorts of things! It inspires others, too. Trust me, it does. I’ve been inspired many times because girls just have self confidence. Can you believe that?! You don’t have to find a new planet to inspire someone! By just being you, and being who God created you to be- you can change lives.

Ya know why you should have self confidence? Because God. That’s it. God created you. He loves you.Β God loves me. God loves you. Don’t let these words lose meaning, because these are some of the most powerful words ever when we realize it and see it. Β Jesus died for you and me. God is with us everyday, and because of this, because He’s in my heart, and I’ve already accepted Him as my Savior- God is Amazing. And guess what? He’s with me! He loves me, and I can always trust Him. I think that that’s the best reason to have self confidence, ever. πŸ™‚

When I think of self confidence, I think of someone grinning bright, riding a bicycle. Someone helping others, elderly and young. I see someone who already knows that they’re them in God, and they know they have flaws and bad habits. They want to be better. But they also love themselves because of God. Because God knows what He made. Even if we don’t know ourselves completely, God does. And I think I should have utter confidence in that.

I’m not ever saying you should put all your confidence in yourself. Surprise! Because God says never put all your faith in a man, and I sorta figure He means trusting ourselves 11111111%, too. We should always trust God. I just think that self confidence is totally related to God. πŸ™‚ And its beautiful.

Now, please don’t think I’m saying ‘be vain’ ‘be arrogant’ because those are different things! πŸ™‚

So all in all. I’m not saying that you have to have it over night, or such- I just wanted to talk about that… πŸ™‚

-Angela

What do you say?

