The Confederate Flag- The True Meaning And What it Means to Me


The Confederate Flag.

I'm so praying the Confederate flag doesn't get removed. It isn't racist. People are making up racism where it isn't there (not the first time).:

It seems all the liberals and democrats and people have been coming out screaming over this flag. The Confederate flag has gotten a lot of words and names.

People have definitely lost sight of the true meaning of yet another thing, turning it into something it is not (again). And, people have completely ignored their history text books that tell the truth.

I’ve been wanting to write this post for quite some time, and while I’ve dabbled some on Pinterest and Tumblr about the flag and my take on it, I decided to come all together for this. I know I have many followers on all of my sites that are against the flag, and if they are willing to listen to the facts and such below, I welcome them; if not, then its way OK. I’m not writing this to offend, necessarily, people. I’m not into debating for the pure Hades of it either- unless someone’s willing to listen or I’m simply stating something- no, I don’t enjoy debating much for no reason.

Now. Let’s get to the flag!

conf flag

The Confederate Flag. The 13 stars represent the 13 states. Those stars are in an ‘X’, basically saying those states do not belong to the Federal Government. The Southern States withdrew from the union, which ticked Lincoln off because it was going to ruin his plan.

The Civil War was not about slavery. Read up. The war was about money. Sound familiar? It should. To pop people’s bubble of Lincoln being some saint- which he was far from- Lincoln did not care about the slaves. ‘He wanted to free them! He did so! How does that make him evil?!” You ask. Well; see here, the North wanted to abolish slavery completely. Sounds cool, you say. The thing is, freeing slaves with a snap of Lincoln’s finger, would be this.

  •  Slaves did not have education. (Some did, now, some Southern slave owners did give their slaves an education)
  • Slaves had no outside work.
  • Slaves had no ties with people in other places.
  • Slaves had no money.

We threw the slaves into the world with no help or stability. Slaves couldn’t find jobs, couldn’t feed their families, etc… The South wanted to abolish slavery slowly. They wanted to give the slaves a head start- the basics to survive. Because of the North, the South didn’t get to.

The Civil War was about money, again. Not slavery. I’ve had some people say; ”it [the flag] was used basically as a symbol of pro-slavery….Flying the Confederate flag is basically supporting the South’s mindset to keep owning slaves during the Civil War” A common but VERY misshapen belief with protesters.

First off- here’s the thing. Yes, there were some Southerners who didn’t mind slavery. However, those few people DID NOT stand for all the South. The Confederacy was not for slavery. The war was about the North coming in and trying to take over the South- and the South rebelled. They stood away, standing up for their personal freedom. It had nothing to do with them saying slavery was OK.

”Only Southerners owned slaves.”

Entirely untrue! See! The statements of ‘Flying the Confederate flag is basically supporting the South’s mindset to keep owning slaves during the Civil War’ is entirely self defeating because during/before the war, NORTHERNERS OWNED SLAVES TOO.

Surprisingly, to many history impaired individuals, most Union Generals and staff had slaves to serve them! William T. Sherman had many slaves that served him until well after the war was over and did not free them until late in 1865.

U.S. Grant also had several slaves, who were only freed after the 13th amendment in December of 1865. When asked why he didn’t free his slaves earlier, Grant stated “Good help is so hard to come by these days.”

Contrarily, Confederate General Robert E. Lee freed his slaves (which he never purchased – they were inherited) in 1862! Lee freed his slaves several years before the war was over, andconsiderably earlier than his Northern counterparts. And during the fierce early days of the war when the South was obliterating the Yankee armies!

Lastly, and most importantly, why did NORTHERN States outlaw slavery only AFTER the war was over? The so-called “Emancipation Proclamation” of Lincoln only gave freedom to slaves in the SOUTH! NOT in the North! This pecksniffery even went so far as to find the state of Delaware rejecting the 13th Amendment in December of 1865 and did not ratify it (13th Amendment / free the slaves) until 1901!

(above 4 paragraphs source: http://www.rulen.com/myths/ )

The North used the slavery as a cover for what they really wanted- the South to lie down and roll over.

MYTH  –   The Confederate Battle Flag represented the Southern Nation.

FACT  –   Not true. While the Southern Battle flag was carried into battle, the Southern Nation had 3 different National flags during the course of the war.

The First National flag was changed due to a resemblance of the US flag.

The Second National flag was subsequently modified due to the similarity to a flag of truce.

The Third National flag was the adopted flag of the Confederacy.

The Confederate Battle Flag was never a National Flag of the Confederacy. It was carried into battle by several armies such as the Army Of Northen Virginia and the Army of Tennessee. Was also used as a Naval Jack by the Confederate Navy.

^(above source, http://www.rulen.com/myths/ )

MYTH  –   The South revered slavery.

FACT  –   A very interesting fact on slavery is that at the time the War of 1861 -1865 officially commenced, the Southern States were actually in the process of freeing all slaves in the South. Russia had freed it’s servants in 1859, and the South took great note of this. Had military intervention not been forced upon the South, a very different America would have been realized then as well as now.

The Confederate Flag is not ‘racist’ or ‘oppressive’. In order to be ‘racist’, the flag would have to stand for one race being superior to another. RACE had nothing to do with the South’s fight. FREEDOM did. The South had this flag (and the other flags) to represent them. It is a battle flag- a. Battle. Flag. The South was fighting for their rights, and the flag stood for that- it didn’t stand for ‘slavery is OK’. Period.

I have seen, in my little Southern, country town, MANY MANY MANY people, WHITE AND BLACK, flying the Confederate flag on their cars and trucks proudly. Willing to talk to people about the flags. SIMPLY BEARING THEIR HISTORY WITH PRIDE because we know it is not hate or racism. It is history and heritage. Here in the South, we love that. We don’t forget who we were, where we came from, we pay respect and have passion about right things. I see black and white people who love the flag for what it is.

Because all of this agenda with those KKK groups and the recent people shouting against the flag- they’re making the Confederate flag, and the South, into what its not. They’re lying and changing the truth. People have been doing that A LOT for the past years (its always been a human thing, though). If a person doesn’t like history, they change it to suit them. Its WRONG. The Confederate flag is an example of people making something into what it’s not, for their own agenda.

People against the flag can’t change what it truly means, though. No one has the right to ‘change’ our history or heritage, just because they don’t like it or something.

The government does not have the right to take away the flag.

The Confederate flag is a part of history. Plain and simple. A battle cry and battle shout, for the South to plunge into a war for their rights, freedom, and ways. People FOUGHT for those things, fought under that flag. Men died. Men lived. They found a cause they found extremely important and fought, no matter what, they fought for what the believed in, under a flag that stood for so much.

I am very passionate about the Confederate flag. Its something a I get fiery about. I am a die hard Southerner, a full country girl, an AMERICAN. That flag means so much to me in so many ways.

To me, that flag stands for staying strong in what you believe in. I love being Southern. I love being country. I love being America- because I love all three things. I  love God! And all three things come from him, 100%. As all four things; the flag touches me deep inside. It nestles there, burning bright with passion and love for the Confederate flag. Fighting. My soul burns for it. Fighting for what’s right, for America, for freedom. The South, that’s what we do. Like Hades we’ll roll over- that flag stands for a battle shout to plow on. ”Don’t tread on me!”

I hold that flag dear to my heart, its part of my history, my heritage- every Southerner’s. I really can’t consider you a true Southerner if you stand against it, personally. Because it should be naturally and burning for you to KNOW your heritage’s TRUE HISTORY AND MEANING. That’s another reason I love it. I know the truth, so I can’t not love the flag.

The flag, to me, means standing strong and fighting and flying high in freedom. Never stop fighting for what you know is right. No matter who’s in power. If God stands with you, who can stand against you? God stands in the right, no matter where we stand. The Alpha and Omega, He’s the One I fight for, and these flags, the AMERICAN RED, WHITE, AND BLUE and the Confederate flags, just cry it on.

These flags hold and show ideas, emotions, truths, reality, love, power, steadfastness, strength- these are a few things that make America GREAT. (and the South). For me, the flags go much deeper than how society wants to hold the Confederate flag as ‘racist’ and stuff- not only are there facts for this to be wrong- but deep inside, other people, like me, know it to be true that these flags are so much more than pieces of cloth.

I love that flag. I love the American flag. With a deep passion. MEN AND WOMEN fought for America. Are fighting. Have died and are dying- because they love what that flag stands for. Both flags.

american confederate flag - Google Search:

We fly this flag to remind us. To learn from the past. To know to keep going. We fly this flag because it means something to us. We fly this flag in respect of those who fell for it, for us, for the South. We fly this flag to remember, and love, and pay respect, and we fly it with pride because we love the South. We know our history and thank those who fought. The flag is a piece of our past, and we should never forget (or change for our own propaganda) our history.

This flag means something different to everyone. I have had someone say that ‘waving the Confederate flag didn’t achieve anything’; Flying the Confederate flag is NOT clinging to nothing. Its not clinging to something that doesn’t matter. As for ‘achieving’ something- really? Don’t make me laugh… Like I said before… The flag means a ton to me, I love it, and I have reasons to fly it. Not just ’cause I love it for what it stands for- but because it reminds me and everyone else- the South, we rebelled for what is right. And we should never falter to do so again if we must.

The Confederate Flag is not something you can change into a lie. People are trying to do so. Trying to write it off. You can’t, because the facts are there against you. (though anymore people don’t need facts, they lie to themselves)

Cool Rebel Flag Backgrounds | confederate flag graphics and comments:

This flag stands. I won’t stop flying it. I won’t forget. I won’t stand down. I love America, the South, the American flag, and the Confederacy flags- because they mean a sure Hades of a lot to me personally. And they meant a dang lot to the people who fought and died for them, out of pure love.

I’m sure I’ll get called names for being so ‘sentimental’. The ‘point of still flying the flag’ is that the fight will never end. Some. Fights. Do. Not. End. Not just this one.

Overall- The flag is not racist. Liberals, please pull on your big girl panties.

The war was not about slavery. On another note, added; both sides owned slaves, and the South was not saying slavery was OK. The flag has more meaning than you think, and unless your Southern, you don’t really get a say so on it.

GOD BLESS AMERICA! LAND OF THE FREE BECAUSE OF THE BRAVE.

-Angela

P.S. I do not own above pictures.

P.P.S. I may come back and add on this later. Or make a new post. I don’t know.

End note: I am not here to ‘hurt your feelings or beliefs’. This is my stand. Don’t like it? Unfollow, exit my page, and live on your life. Thank you!

One thought on “The Confederate Flag- The True Meaning And What it Means to Me

  1. Hello Ma’am,
    Stumbled upon your blog after trying to get an understanding about the protest at Stone Mountain today. I have to say, I feel like I dont understand. So I have a question; what freedoms were the South trying to protect? What were they exactly fighting for? You stated it was all about money; what money? What was the income streams? How was the North interfering? What was the gain? What were they wanting to separate for? How would have things been different should the South have won? Im not asking this with any mal intent or with any emotional reference, Im just really trying to understand. Thanks.

    Like

What do you say?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.